Skip to content

74th Santa Rosa Roundup winds up with great action in rodeo arena

Steer wrestler Jeremy Bullard takes his go during the opening night of the 2019 Santa Rosa Roundup.
Charles Ashley/Vernon Record

The 74th annual Santa Rosa Roundup concluded its four-night run Saturday at the Santa Rosa Arena south of Vernon.
Vernon’s Caine Riddle of Vernon riding Tic Tac put up an impressive score of 75 in bareback competition on Saturday, the final night of competition. That left him in the money with a fourth place overall finish.
Riley Westhaver of Alva, Okla. was the overall winner of the steer wrestling event on a time of 14.8/2 seconds, followed by Cimarron Thompson of Hobbs N.M., 16.8/2 seconds; Kodie Jang of Townsville, Australia, 19.1/2; and Walt Arnold of Coleman, 23.0/2.
Colby Fedor of Grandview was the overall winner of the bareback riding event riding Nutrena’s Little Jet with a score of 87.0, followed by Tim Murphy of Wheeler riding Movie Madness for a score of 85.0, Leighton Berry of Weatherford riding Jet Stream for a score of 82.0; Joel Schleigel of Burns, Colo. riding Game Changer for a score of 76.0; Riddle of Vernon riding Tic Tac for a score of 75.0; Hunter Carter of Athens riding Night Owl for a score of 74.0; and Jade Taton of Goodwell, Okla. riding Centerfold for a score of 74.0.
Jake Gowdy of Bristow, Okla. was the overall winner of the bull riding event riding Bullet Proof for a score of 82, followed by Fulton Rutland of Stilwell, Okla. on Mully Magician for a score of 77.0; Chris Betchhold of Booker riding Disastrous for a score of 74.5; and Garrett Wickett of Battle Creek, Neb. riding Deposit Slip for a score of 74.0.
Stevi Hillman of Weatherford was the overall winner of the barrel racing event on a time of 17.22 seconds, followed by Dona Kay Rule of Minco, Okla. on a time of 17.23 seconds, Holly Wright of Gruver on a time of 17.35 seconds, Jill Wilson of Snyder on a time of 17.38, Kelly Tovar of Rockdale on a time of 17.40, Emily Hamrick of Anacoca, La. On a time of 17.47; Andrea Busby of Brock on a time of 17.50, Gayle Jones of Decatur on a time of 17.58, Janie Johnson of Canyon on a time of 17.60 and Sara Withers of Paris, Texas on a time of 17.62.
Overall winner of the team roping event was Clayton Eggers of Stephenville and Joshua Smitherman of Deleon on a time of 17.5/2 seconds, followed by Lane Ivy of Dublin and Buddy Hawkins II of Columbus, Kan. on a time of 17.6/2 seconds, Manny Egusquiza Jr. of Marianna, Fla. and Dustin K. Searcy of Weatherford on a time of 18.2/2 seconds, and Wyatt Cole Muggli of Lane, Okla. and Coleby Payne of Lipan on a time of 21.8/2 seconds.
Jacobs Crawley of Boerne was the overall winner of the saddle bronc riding event riding Rapid Rewards for a score of 85.0, Sterling Crawley of Stephenville on Black Tie for a score of 81.0, Riggin Smith of Winterset, Iowa. On Dumbbell for a score of 79.0, Dean Wadsworth of Buffalo Gap on Painted Desert for a score of 78.0, Tegan Smith of Winterset on Ten Bears for a score of 75.5, and Cooper Thatcher of Australia for a score of 71.0.
Tyler Milligan of Pawhuska, Okla. was the overall winner of the tie down roping event on a time of 19.1/2 seconds, followed by J.D. McCuistion of Collinsville on a time of 20.6/2 seconds, Shank Edwards of Tatum, N.M. on a time of 21.5/2 seconds, Will Howell of Stillwater, Okla. on a time of 21.6/2 seconds and Cody McCartney of Ottawa Lake, Mich. on a time of 21.6/2 seconds.
Saturday’s Mutton Bustin’ winner was Korey Morales with 89 points. Other scores included Jace McLaughlin, 53; Colt Upton, 50; Aly Joseph, 41; and Jaxton McLaughlin, 40. Friday’s Mutton Bustin’ winner was Karsyn Kubicek with 72 points. Other scores included Keaton Smith, 65; Baylee McBroom, 65; Ian Heatly, 60; Knox Ramsey, 54; Hadley Carrington, 53; Gentry Knox, 52; and Talia Lopez, 38.
Texas Farm Bureau was the winner of Saturday’s Ride the Hide event while the Vernon Fire Department was the winner on Friday followed by Vernon Auto Group and Epic Recon.

Leave a Comment