Skip to content

Lion basketball team members receive district honors

The Vernon Lions claimed a playoff berth in rhe most recent basketball season. For their efforts, two Vernon Lions received postseason basketball district awards, according to Head Coach Grant Schur.
Senior Tyler Reeves was named to the All District First Team while sophomore Jacob Boatman was named to the All District Second Team. Receiving honorable mention were senior Marc Rodriguez and juniors Ismael Ortega and Wade Whatley.
Overall district awards included KenDarious Horton of Burkburnett, District MVP; Marc Tate of Graham, Offensive MVP; Tre’von Dean of Burkburnett, Defensive MVP; and Ernest Young of Hirschi, newcomer.
First Team
Jaevion Moreland Jr., Burkburnett; Chris Whitten, Hirschi; Nasir Watson, Hirschi; Cirby Coheley, Iowa Park; Caden Ashlock, Iowa Park; Case Birch, Graham; Cameron Mason, Graham; Tyler Reeves, Vernon.
Second Team
Gavin Morris, Burkburnett; Andrew Hawkins, Burkburnett; Jaeden Whitten, Hirschi; Gabriel Colbert, Hirschi; Kiove Nelson, Hirschi; Kade Thomas, Iowa Park; Evan Ranger, Graham, Jacob Boatman, Vernon.

See photos in the online edition

Leave a Comment