Skip to content

Lady Lions grab postseason district honors


Vernon pitcher Shay Williams fields a ground ball and slings it to first base for an out in the second inning of Vernon’s district opening 1-0 win over Burburnett. Williams recorded 12 strikeouts in the win.
Daniel Walker/Vernon Recorhe Vernon Lady Lions softball team finished the 2019 softball campaign as co-district champions, and Bi-District champion. Several Lady Lions earned All-District honors off of the season. Six Lady Lions received First Team honors including infielders Lauren Hager, Shay Williams, Caroline Taylor, Caitlin Brints, and outfielders Avery Kinney, and Addison Spencer.

Two Lady Lions earned Second Team All District honors incluing Jaila McBride, and Makyleigh Leija. Receiving Honorable Mention All District was Emily Boyd.

MVP – Emma Southerland, Jr., Graham
Pitcher of the Year – Jocelyn Bright, Jr., Burkburnett
Offensive MVP – Tatum Trester, Sr., Graham and Tayler Tournay, Sr., Burkburnett
Defensive MVP – Kelsea Armstrong, Jr., Burkburnett
Newcomer of the Year – Leah Gerred, Fr., Burkburnett and Raylea Parsons, Fr., Iowa Park
Utility Player of the Year – Jade Martin, Sr., Iowa Park
Catcher of Year – Callie Dobbs, So., Graham
Infield – Cassidy Summers, So., Burkburnett; Sarah Bundrick, Sr., Graham; Erin Fairchild, Sr., Iowa Park; Lauren Hager, Sr., Vernon; Shay Williams, So., Vernon; Caroline Taylor, Jr., Vernon; Caitlin Brints, Sr., Vernon
Outfield – Morgan Patterson, So., Graham; Kristina Diaz, Sr., Iowa Park; Olivia Gray, Jr., Iowa Park; Avery Kinney, Sr., Vernon; Addison Spencer, So., Vernon
Infield – Jade Hill, Jr., Burkburnett; Alex Husen, Jr., Graham; Maddie Morgan, Sr., Graham; Kaitlyn Holliday, Jr., Hirschi; Jordan Bajo, Sr., Iowa Park; Rylee Goins, Fr., Iowa Park; Jaila McBride, So., Vernon; Makyleigh Leija, Jr., Vernon
Outfield – Kelby Biner, Sr., Burkburnett; Madison Jans-Stutz, Fr., Burkburnett; Ashton Reese, So., Graham; Marilyn Milton, So., Graham; Alexis Gray, Sr., Hirschi; Payton Murray, Fr., Iowa Park
Callie Riley, Jr., Burkburnett; Cruz Guevara, Sr., Hirschi; Ylana Williams, Fr., Hirschi; Karinda Kehl, Fr., Hirschi; Layni Chitwood, So., Iowa Park; Emily Boyd, So., Vernon

Leave a Comment