Skip to content

Crowded field in primary election

A crowded field has filed for county offices in Wilbarger County on the Republican ticket. A candidate forum is planned for Thursday, January 23 at 7 p.m. at the Wilbarger County Auditorium.

Two offices drew three candidates each. The Tax Assessor-Collector position will be contested between Tisha Taylor, Angie Boyd and current office holder Sherrie Campsey.

Current county commissioner John Wright, is being challenged by former county commissioner Billy Taylor, and former city commissioner Guy Spears.

Another Wilbarger County commissioner, Kelly Joe Neel, will face challenger Scott Inglish.

For Wilbarger County Sheriff, current sheriff Bill Price is challenged by Brian Fritze.

Running unopposed as republicans are county attorney Cory Curtis and constables Kenny Alexander and Paul Miller. Running unopposed as a democrat is district attorney Staley Heatly.

In Hardeman County, there will be two contested races in the Republican primary. In Hardeman County Commissioner, precinct 1, incumbent Chris Call is challenged by Max Nowell. In the Hardeman County Constable race, incumbent Billy Walkup is challenged by Ed Hunt. Other candidates were unopposed in the primary.

The fight to replace Mac Thornberry as Congressman for District 13 will be congested. There were 15 that registered as republicans: Josh Winegarner, Vance Snider II, Diane Knowlton, Chris Ekstrom, Jamie Culley, Jason Foglesong, Elaine Hays, Richard Herman, Monique Worthy, Matt McArthur, Lee Harvey, Mark Neese, Catherine “I Swear” Carr, Ronny Jackson, and Asusena Reséndiz.

Leave a Comment