Skip to content

Four contested races set for Wilbarger County primary

The filing period for county offices ended Monday with four contested primary races set on the Republican ballot in Wilbarger County.
County Treasurer has two candidates, Angie Boyd and Amber Lagunas Cobb. Incumbent Joann Carter did not seek reelection.

County Commissioner Pct. 4 incumbent Josh Patterson drew an opponent in Jerry Pennartz.

Justice of the Peace Pct. 1 incumbent Gene Morton drew a challenge from Sharon McCarty Goins.

Justice of the Peace Pct. 2 has two candidates Bill Humphrey and Clinton Nava. Incumbent Lewis Templeton did not seek reelection.
There will be a few new office holders as well. Cory Curtis was the only one to file for District Judge of the 46th Judicial
District covering Wilbarger, Foard and Hardeman counties.Current District Judge Dan Mike Bird is retiring.

Curtis will be replaced as Wilbarger County Attorney.  Jon Whitsitt, current assistant district attorney, was the only one to file for that office.
County Judge Greg Tyra, the only area Democrat, did not draw an opponent in the primary or general election.

County Commissioner Pct. 2 Phillip Graf, District Court Clerk Brenda Peterson, and County Clerk Jana Kennon all were unopposed in their re-election bids on the Republican side.
There were no contested races reported in Hardeman County.
Charles Perry is unopposed for reelection in Senate District 28. James Frank is also unopposed for reelection for State Representative in HD 69.

Leave a Comment