Skip to content

Early voting begins Monday

Early voting for the Nov. 8 general election will begin Monday, Oct. 24 and end Friday, Nov. 4. Early voting by personal appearance will be conducted each weekday during this period from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Wilbarger County Auditorium, 2100 Yamparika St., Vernon.
Ballots by mail can be requested until Oct. 28. Vote by mail requests must be received in the Wilbarger County Clerk’s office no later than Oct. 28. Applications postmarked Oct. 28 but received after that day will not be accepted.
To request a ballot by mail, a number from a Texas driver’s license, Texas election ID certificate, Texas personal ID card, or social security card must be provided on both the application and carrier envelope. Anyone that has not been issued any of these IDs must indicate so by checking the appropriate box on the application for a ballot by mail and the carrier envelope.
For voters aged 18-69 photo ID can be expired for up to four years. For voters aged 70 years and older, photo ID can be expired for any length of time if otherwise valid.
To be eligible to vote by mail, applicants must meet one of the following requirements:
– 65 years or older
– Sick or disabled
– Expected to give birth within three weeks of election day, Nov. 8.
– Out of the county on election day and during the period for early voting by personal appearance
– Confined in jail but are otherwise eligible
– Civilly committed under Chapter 841 of the Texas Health and Safety Code.
Unopposed candidates for local offices appearing on the general election ballot include District Judge, 46th Judicial District, Cornell D. “Cory” Curtis – REP; County Judge Greg Tyra – DEM; County Attorney – unexpired term Johnathan Jack Whitsitt – REP; District Clerk Brenda Peterson – REP; County Clerk Jana Kennon – REP.
Also, County Treasurer Angie Boyd – REP; County Commissioner, Precinct No. 2 Phillip C. Graf – REP; County Commissioner, Precinct No. 4 Josh Patterson – REP; Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 Gene Morton – REP; and Justice of the Peace Precinct 2 Clinton Nava.

Leave a Comment