Skip to content

Football Lions earn postseason All-District honors

The Vernon Lions completed the 2022 football season, tying for second place in District 3-3A Division I was a 3-2 district record, and a 6-4 overall record.
A number of Lions received postseason accolades with 11 players receiving 1st team All-District status, six named 2nd team All-District, and seven players receiving Honorable Mention. Vernon had the most 1st team players of any in the district. Jim Ned and Breckenridge each had nine first team All District performers, with Iowa Park claiming 5 first team players. Clyde had four and Bowie two first team players.
Senior Tyrone McKinney had the rare distinction of being First Team All District on offense (as a wide receiver) and on defense (as a safety).
Vernon had two players earn district superlatives. Isaiah Sanchez was named Lineman of the Year, and Javier Perez was named Special Teams Player of the Year. Jim Ned had five players earn superlatives with one each for Iowa Park and Breckenridge.
Lineman of the Year: Isaiah Sanchez (#63/SR)
1st Team QB: Kale Sherrill (#12/JR): 63 of 131 passing for 1,007 yards; 83 carries for 400 yards.
1st Team RB: TJ Thomas (#34/JR): 120 carries for 599 yards, 8 TDs.
1st Team Fullback: CJ Johnson (#9/SR): 64 carries for 343 yards; 9 receptions for 185 yards.
1st Team WR: Tyrone McKinney (#2/SR): 18 catches for 235 yards.
1st Team Offensive Line: Taylor Maldonado (#50/SR)
2nd Team WR: Tavares Gaines (#4/SR): 13 catches 202 yards.
2nd Team TE: Greg Newton (#88/JR): 4 catches for 111 yards
2nd Team Offensive Line: Beau Gearld (#58/SR)
1st Team Defensive Line: Sebastian Garza (#5/SR): 46.5 tackles, 9 TFL, 4 sacks, 2 FF
1st Team Inside LBer: Hyme Guzman (#52/25/SR): 62.5 tackles, 6 TFL, 2 sacks, 3 FF, 1 blocked kick
1st Team Inside LBer: Ash Lay (#54/SR): 51 tackles, 3.5 TFL, 1 FR.
1st Team Safety: Jayden Robledo (#3/SR): 79 tackles, 1.5 TFL, 4 INT, 5 PBU, 1 FF, 2 Def. TDs.
1st Team Safety: Tyrone McKinney (#2/SR): 64 tackles, 1 TFL, 1 FF, 4 INT.
1st Team CB: Adarius Williams (#10/SO): 28.5 tackles, 4 TFL, 4 PBU, 4 INT.
2nd Team Defensive Line: Shyne Rodriguez (#78/JR): 45 tackles, 10.5 TFL, 3 sacks, 3 FF.
2nd Team Outside LBer: Greg Newton (#88/JR): 18.5 tackles, 2 TFL, 2 PBU.
2nd Team CB: Tavares Gaines (#4/SR): 14. 5 tackles, 2.5 TFL, 1 INT, 6 PBU
Player of the Year: Javier Perez (#18/SR)
HM Defensive Line: Chris Mora (#53/SR); HM Offensive Line: Chris Mora (#53/SR); HM Offensive Line: Ismael Urista (#64/JR); HM Outside LBer: Jevon Fanner (#8/JR); HM Inside LBer: Johnny Pruitt (#35/JR); HM WR: Case Fleming (#11/JR); HM Newcomer of the Year: Ty Scott (#15/FR)
Tavares Gaines; Jevon Fanner; Adarius Wiliams; Case Fleming; Kale Sherrill; Ty Scott; Nick Guzman; Kameron Plyler; Angel Serrato; TJ Thomas; Taylor Maldonado; Hyme Guzman; Ash Lay; Beau Gearld; Ismael Urista; Alex Rivera; Mason Brothers; Shyne Rodriguez; Garrett Sparks; Greg Newton
District Superlatives
MVP: Troy Doran, Jim Ned; Offensive MVP: Anson Rodgers, BReckenridge; Gage Stanaland, Jim Ned; Defensive MVP: Tanner Hussman, Jim Ned; Lineman of the Year: Isaiah Sanchez, Vernon; Utility: CJ Miser, Iowa Park; Off. Newcomer: Barrett Browning, Jim Ned; Def. newcomer: Trey Hicks, Jim Ned
Special Teams Player of the Year: Javier Perez: Vernon

Leave a Comment