Skip to content

All local candidates unopposed for office

Incumbents for the Vernon city commission, Vernon ISD board of trustees and Wilbarger General Hospital board of directors were unopposed in their bids for new terms for the May 4 general election, for which the filing period ended last Friday.
Two of the three Vernon ISD incumbents filed for re-election to their seats unopposed. They include Kevin Young, Place 4; and Tom Scott, Place 5. J.J. Oznick was also unopposed for his bid on a full three-year term to his Place 3 seat for which he was appointed to fill out the remaining months of the current term vacated by Rodney Garrard following his recent resignation.
Vernon city commission members Don Aydelott, Place 3; and Britt Ferguson, Place 4, were unopposed in their bids for new terms of office.
Also unopposed in their bids for new terms of officer were Wilbarger General Hospital board incumbents Pam Caldwell, Place 6; and Roger Townson, Place 7.
Contested races, however, did emerge in Chillicothe where voters will go to the polls to decide on school board and hospital board candidates.
Two candidates filed for two at-large seats on the Chillicothe ISD board of trustees. They included incumbent Cheryl McGlocklin and newcomers Delores Flores and Seth Baird. The incumbent for the other seat on the ballot, Sharon Brock, did not seek re-election. In addition to candidates, district voters will also decide on a $7.5 million bond issue for the construction of a new cafeteria at the elementary school and renovation of the existing cafeteria into additional classroom space, and the construction of a new vocational ag building at the high school.
Four candidates have filed for two at-large seats on the Chillicothe Hospital board of directors. They included incumbents Cecile Brown and Betty Boone, and newcomers Mike Baustert and Ray Hopkins.
Kristin Hopkins, Carlos Ayala and Bradley Fisher filed as newcomers for three at-large seats up for grabs on the Chillicothe city council. Those are now held Calvin Littlecreek and Rookie Barnett, who did not seek re-election for new terms, while a third was vacated by Michelle Stovall who recently was hired as city secretary.

Leave a Comment