Skip to content

County bids farewell to 2 commissioners

The Wilbarger County Commissioners Court held its final meeting of 2020 on Monday, Dec. 28 — and it was the final meeting for  Precinct 1 commissioner John Wright and Precinct 3 commissioner Kelly Joe Neel.

“It’s been a pleasure,” Wright told the court. “I got some things accomplished that I set out to do — like paving roads. … But I never did get a purchasing agreement put into place.”

Purchases for precincts 1 and 3 and the sheriff’s department were approved on a motion from commissioner Josh Patterson. The only expense requested was from Wright, and it was in regard to a couple of truck repairs.

The payment of bills was approved on a motion from commissioner Phillip Graf.

New commissioners Billy Taylor and Scott Inglish, as well as new sheriff Brian Fritze are scheduled to be sworn into office on Monday, January 4 at the courthouse County Judge Greg Tyra stated.

The first regularly scheduled meeting for the newly organized commissioners court is Monday, January 11.

Leave a Comment