Skip to content

Deadline to file for office is Friday

The filing period for seats on area government bodies ends Friday, with several contested races shaping up. Seats are up for election on the Vernon City Commission, the Wilbarger General Hospital Board of Directors, the Vernon Independent School Board of Trustees, and the Vernon College Board of Trustees.
The deadline to file for one of the offices is February 18, 2022, and filing should be done at each particular entities’ administration office.
The election will be held on Saturday, May 7, 2022.
There are three positions up for election on the Vernon Independent School District’s board of trustees. Four newcomers and one incumbent have filed.
Taylor Craighead has filed for Place 3. Bryson Henry and Gordy Gonzales have filed for Place 4. Amanda Lehman has filed for Place 5. Tom Scott (first elected in 2016) has filed for reelection in Place 5. The incumbents Kevin Young (first elected 2003) and Sjohonton Fanner (elected 2021 to fill an open seat) have not filed for reelection at this time.
There are three positions up for election with the City of Vernon and all three incumbents have filed. Pam Gosline filed for Mayor. Jim Parmer filed for Precinct 2 commissioner. Early Williams filed for Precinct 1 commissioner.
Wilbarger General Hospital had two positions up for election. Place 7 has incumbent Roger Townson being challenged by Gene White. Incumbent Pam Caldwell has filed for the Place 6 position.
Vernon College has three positions up for election. Jamie Chapman has filed for a 6-year-term at Place 3. Incumbent Betsy Smith has filed for a 4-year term at Place 2. Smith was appointed to complete Anne Spears original term. Place 4 is held by Dr. Todd Smith, and is a six- year term. Smith has indicated to the College that he does not plan to seek reelection.

Leave a Comment